This guide has been prepared based on many years of professional experience using the PIEVC Protocol and other climate and infrastructure vulnerability and risk assessment methods. Writing Team members include:


  • Jeff O’Driscoll, Associated Engineering
  • Joel Nodelman, Nodelcorp
  • Joan Nodelman, Nodelcorp
  • Norman Shippee, Stantec Consulting


  • Erik Sparling, Climate Risk Institute
  • Glenn Milner, Climate Risk Institute
  • Kirsten MacMillan, Climate Risk Institute

We also acknowledge the time and efforts of the Advisory Committee. The knowledge and experience of these individuals have helped shape a guide that is accessible, defensible, and applicable to a broad range of infrastructure assets, systems, and portfolios. Advisory Committee members include:

  • Benjamin Hodick, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit
  • Beth Lavender, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
  • Dan Sandink, Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction
  • David Lapp, Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction
  • Derek Gray, AECOM
  • Dustin Carey, Federation of Canadian Municipalities
  • Elise Pare, WSP
  • Elmer Lickers, Ontario First Nations Technical Services Corporation
  • Isabelle Charron, Ouranos
  • Kate Miller, Cowichan Valley Regional District 
  • Laure Gerard, Public Services and Procurement Canada 
  • Pamela Kertland, Natural Resources Canada
  • Peter Nimmrichter, Wood  
  • Quentin Chiotti, Matrix Solutions Inc.
  • Sincy Modayil, City of Edmonton
  • Tom Duncan, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada
  • Trevor Murdock, Canadian Centre for Climate Services

The following individuals also provided valuable input to the guide:

  • Darrel Danyluk, World Federation of Engineering Organizations
  • Fiona Hill, National Research Council of Canada
  • Marla Desat, Standards Council of Canada
  • Marianne Armstrong, National Research Council of Canada
  • Nathalie Bleau, Ouranos